Legislators' contact info

For those of you who’d like to contact your state Representatives and Senators directly, we’ve collected information below for legislators whose districts cover the AAPS district and nearby areas. Where appropriate, their committee membership is noted; the House and Senate Appropriations committees will be tackling any spending questions directly, with new taxes and any reconsideration of school funding being taken up by other committees as appropriate.

House Districts covering Ann Arbor Public Schools and nearby:

District 52
Pam Byrnes (D)
Phone: 517-373-0828
Email: pambyrnes@house.mi.gov
[District 52 covers most of western Washtenaw county, and loops around on the north and includes northeast Ann Arbor, down to parts of Ann Arbor Hills.]

District 53
Rebekah Warren (D)
Phone: 517-373-2577
Email: rebekahwarren@house.mi.gov
[53 includes nearly all of Ann Arbor except for the NE part.]

District 54
Alma Wheeler Smith (D)
Phone: 517-373-1771
Email: almasmith@house.mi.gov
[54 covers eastern Washtenaw Co., including principally Ypsilanti.]

District 55
Kathy Angerer (D)
Phone: 517-373-1792
Email: kathyangerer@house.mi.gov
[55 starts at Pittsfield Township, and covers Milan and goes down to the state line.]

Both Byrnes and Wheeler Smith sit on the House Appropriations committee. None of our local representatives sit on the Appropriations subcommittee on school aid. Angerer sits on the Education committee, and Warren is a freshman member of the Tax Policy committee.

Members of the House Appropriations subcommittee on School Aid & Education:
Reps. Gillard (Chair), Vagnozzi (Majority Vice Chair), Cheeks, Spade, Caswell (Minority Vice Chair), Moss

To confirm who your representative is, you can enter your zip code and search on this page:

Senate districts:

District 18
Liz Brater (D)
[Includes Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti, and northern Washtenaw Co.]
Office Phone: (517) 373-2406
Office Location: 510 Farnum Building
E-mail Address: SenLBrater@senate.michigan.gov

District 17
Randy Richardville ®
[Goes from east of Jackson, south of Ann Arbor (incl. Pittsfield Twp.), and covers all of Monroe County.]
Office Phone: (517) 373-3543
Office Location: 205 Farnum Building
E-mail Address: SenRRichardville@senate.michigan.gov

To contact Senators by postal mail, use this address:
Senator Name
Post Office Box 30036
Lansing, MI 48909-7536

Brater sits on the Appropriations committee, but not on relevant subcommittees or on the Education committee.

For reference, here are the members of the Senate Appropriations subcommittee who would deal with bills setting school aid spending:
Appropriations subcommittee members:
K-12, SCHOOL AID, EDUCATION: Senators Jelinek ©, Brown (VC), Garcia, Switalski (MVC), Clark-Coleman

To check who your state senator is, you can enter your address information on this search page: